Salah beats De Bruyne & Rice to FWA award

Salah beats De Bruyne & Rice to FWA award

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah during a training session

Staff Reporter

Saturday Apr 30, 2022. 13:00

Liverpool FC superstar Mohamed Salah has been named Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year for 2022.

The Egyptian winger won 48 per cent of the vote from journalists in the FWA to take the prestigious prize for the second time following his success in 2018.

Manchester City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne and West Ham United central midfielder Declan Rice finished second and third respectively.

The FWA issued the following statement.

“Liverpool’s Salah received 48 per cent of the vote beating Kevin De Bruyne and Declan Rice, who finished second and third in the poll,” a statement read.

“It is the second time Salah has been recognised, having won the award in 2018.”

Salah has registered impressive statistics in terms of goals and assists this season to help inspire Liverpool’s bid for an unprecedented quadruple.

The world-class player leads the way in the race for both the Premier League Golden Boot (22 goals) and Playmaker of the Season (13 assists) awards.

Across all competitions, Salah, who is the Egypt captain, has registered 30 goals and 14 assists in 44 appearances.

He becomes only the third Liverpool player to win the FWA accolade for a second time, after Kenny Dalglish and John Barnes.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.